Hi all, Rafael here

Hi all,

I have been a software developer for more than two decades now, and since very early in my career I have been interested in raising the level of abstraction of programming languages, more specifically in the context of business applications.

I develop another opensource project called Cloudfier that shares many of the same traits found in GenerativeObjects, however my audience is regular software developers, not the “citizen developer”, as most low-code approaches tend to target.

But why am I here? Well, I think there are many components that a model-driven tool like Cloudfier shares with low-code tools such as GenerativeObjects (and also with tools for domain specific language-based development), so I will be looking for opportunities to find synergies and technology sharing opportunities between GO and my own projects.

One obstacle may be technology stack choices. GO is .Net/CLR and Cloudfier is Java/JVM.

One thing that should help here is a design based on APIs and distributed services. Not sure that is something the existing GO already does or something that is in the plans/interesting for the new GO.

Another strategy is to define conceptual APIs that are implementation independent (having a reference implementation in stack X, Y or Z is fine and actually important, as long as the RI stack’s idiosyncrasies don’t creep up into the conceptual APIs) and can have bindings on multiple technologies. This way, at least we get to share the same conceptual framework, and interoperability becomes easier.

Cheers,

Rafael
https://blog.abstratt.com/rafael-chaves/

1 Like

Thank you @rafael for introducing yourself and for beeing here with us !

This feels great ! Yes I believe that co-creating is the way to go, and co-creating not only on a single project, but across multiple projects, is even more powerful. It enforces the need to design solutions in a modular and inter-operable way. So big YES to this!