Hi, I am Garth Ormsby

Hi All,

I’m a Solutions/Enterprise Architect, based in Sydney Australia, and similar to Velu from London, I’ve been thinking about developing a model / metadata driven platform for some time but never moved past the tinkering phase. Whenever I drafted a features list for such a platform, the amount of work required was overwhelming relative to available time/energy.

And being an Architect, I’d spend too long thinking about patterns for the generated code, and wanting to support them all via generator switches: server monolith vs api gateway+DDD microservices; UI monolith vs micro UIs; clean / hexagonal / onion architecture; Event Driven; CQRS/ES; relational vs NoSql; deployment to public cloud X / failover to public cloud Y etc.

Not to mention wanting support for enterprise grade platform features like: workflow/business process automation; meta-model query language for grid filtering & custom reporting; data integration engine (supporting Import to staging/Transform/Load & Extract to staging/Transform/Export etc); event stream for pub/sub integration; “app”/plug-in abstraction to support a platform ecosystem etc etc.

In my mind, this is a project that needs a village, and Walter’s initiative to take his team’s work open source is an amazing foundation from which to build!

I have a few motivations to be a contributor:

• I’ve been a serial beneficiary of open source products & have contributed little in return; time for pay back

• I’ve been exposed to a number of dominant SaaS platforms in the enterprise market such as Salesforce/force.com & and ServiceNow and seen they are essentially meta-model driven. These platforms can add enormous value to organisations (caveat: when the customisation demand pipeline is properly governed), but their commercial pricing/licensing models can restrict organisations from attaining full benefit/value - they can be overly restrictive and/or expensive